Game 1 Preview – Devils at Penguins

By: Casey Johnston (@CaseyR82)

Last Game for the Pens:  June 7, 2013.  The Penguins were shutout for the second time in their Eastern Conference Finals series against the Boston Bruins as they fell 1-0.  Tomas Vokoun stopped 23 of 24 shots.  However, the Penguins failed to find the back of the net as Tuukka Rask stopped all 24 shots that came his way.  It was a bittersweet end as the Penguins were heavily favored to make it to the Stanley Cup Finals.

Last Game for the Devils:  April 27, 2013.  The Devils were also shutout in their last game, losing 4-0 to the New York Rangers.  Henrik Lundqvist stopped all 20 shots the Devils threw his way while Rick Nash scored twice.

Last Time These Two Teams Met:  April 25, 2013.  The Devils defeated the Penguins 3-2 in New Jersey.  Matt Cooke and Jussi Jokinen opened the scoring for the Penguins.  However, the Devils would answer back with three unanswered goals from Travis Zajac, David Clarkson, and Ilya Kovalchuk (his last goal in the NHL).  Johan Hedberg had it easy as he only faced 18 shots.  Marc-Andre Fleury had it tougher as he faced 32 shots.

Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images

Story of the Game:  The Penguins open the regular season at home.  Nothing from last year matters.  Everyone starts this season with a clean slate.  Whether you are a proven star like Sidney Crosby or trying to fight your way into the top-six like Beau Bennett, everyone is on equal footing tonight.

Pens All-Time Record Against the Devils:  90-97-17-8

Devils-Killer on the Pens:  Sidney Crosby has 8 points in his last 5 games versus the Devils.

Penguins-Killer on the Devils:  Patrik Elias has 3 points in his last 2 games against the Penguins.

Probable Lines Tonight: (From Daily Faceoff)

14 Chris Kunitz – 87 Sidney Crosby – 9 Pascal Dupuis
36 Jussi Jokinen – 71 Evgeni Malkin – 18 James Neal
12 Chuck Kobesew – 16 Brandon Sutter – 19 Beau Bennett
15 Tanner Glass – 17 Dustin Jeffrey – 27 Craig Adams

44 Brooks Orpik – 7 Paul Martin
4 Rob Scuderi – 2 Matt Niskanen
12 Olli Maatta – 41 Robert Bortuzzo

29 Marc-Andre Fleury

29 Ryan Clowe – 26 Patrik Elias – 12 Damien Brunner
14 Adam Henrique – 19 Travis Zajac – 68 Jaromir Jagr
8 Dainius Zubrus – 21 Andrei Loktionov – 17 Michael Ryder
20 Ryan Carter – 11 Stephen Gionta – 18 Steve Bernier

24 Bryce Salvador – 2 Marek Zidlicky
6 Andy Greene – 5 Adam Larsson
28 Anton Volchenkov – 10 Peter Harrold

35 Cory Schneider