Game 10 Preview – Islanders at Penguins



By: Casey Johnston (@CaseyR82)

Last Game for the Pens:  Monday, a 1-0 loss to the Colorado Avalanche.  Gabriel Landeskog scored the game’s lone goal.  The Penguins peppered J.S. Giguere with 34 shots but couldn’t beat him.  Marc-Andre Fleury stopped 13 of 14 shots.

Last Game for the Islanders:  Tuesday, a 5-4 overtime loss to the Vancouver Canucks.  Matt Moulson scored twice while Brock Nelson and Frans Nielsen scored once for the Islanders.  Moulson, Nielsen, and Kyle Okposo each had multi-point games.

Last Time These Two Teams Met:  May 11, 2013.  The Penguins clinched the Eastern Conference Quarterfinals with a 4-3 overtime win.  Colin McDonald, John Tavares, and Michael Grabner scored for the Islanders.  Jarome Iginla, Pascal Dupuis, and Paul Martin scored for the Penguins before Brooks Orpik clinched the series in overtime.  Tomas Vokoun stopped 35 of 38 shots. 

Story of the Game:  The Penguins have officially decided to keep Olli Maatta past his nine-game tryout and now they have decisions to make.  It seems unlikely they will carry eight defensemen, but it seems equally unlikely that they will expose anyone to waivers.  A trade seems imminent, but at this point no defenseman deserves to be shipped out of town (or sat in the press box).

Pens All-Time Record Against the Islanders:  107-92-22-6.

Islanders-Killer on the Pens:  Sidney Crosby has nine points in his last five regular season games versus the Islanders.

Penguins-Killer on the Islanders:  Frans Nielsen has 18 points in 28 career games versus the Penguins.

Probable Lines Tonight: (From Daily Faceoff)


14 Chris Kunitz – 87 Sidney Crosby – 9 Pascal Dupuis

36 Jussi Jokinen – 71 Evgeni Malkin – 12 Chuck Kobasew

15 Tanner Glass – 16 Brandon Sutter – 59 Jayson Megna

27 Craig Adams – 46 Joe Vitale – 5 Deryk Engelland

4 Rob Scuderi – 58 Kris Letang

44 Brooks Orpik – 7 Paul Martin

3 Olli Maatta 2 Matt Niskanen

37 Jeff Zatkoff


26 Matt Moulson – 91 John Tavares – 21 Kyle Okposo

60 Pierre-Marc Bourchard – 12 Josh Bailey

29 Brock Nelson – 16 Peter Regin – 15 Cal Clutterbuck

17 Matt Martin – 53 Casey Cizikas – 13 Colin Mcdonald

3 Travis Harmonic – 37 Andrew MacDonald

46 Matt Donovan – 37 Brian Strait

14 Thomas Hickey – 7 Matt Carkner

20 Evgeni Nabakov